Steve Priolo presented with the Chris Hall Memorial Award for the Player with the Most Competitive Spirit as Selected by his Teammates. (Photo courtesy of Victoria Shamrocks)

Victoria Shamrocks celebrate accomplishments of strong 2017 season

Corey Small tallies 20 team awards during his time with the ‘Rocks

Although the Victoria Shamrocks were defeated by the New Westminster Salmonbellies in the 2017 Western Lacrosse Association final, there were many bright spots from the campaign that were celebrated on Sept. 1.

Corey Small took home many recognitions including the George Blackstock Memorial Award for the most valuable player, the Mason Sheldrick Leadership Award, and the John Crowther Memorial Award for the highest scorer. Small was also named a first team all-star and received the Denny Huddleston Memorial Award for the WLA regular season scoring champion. The Ontario native recorded 38 goals and 50 assists in 18 games for the ‘Rocks in 2017.

RELATED: ‘Rocks fall to the Salmonbellies in WLA finals

General manager Chris Welsh said Small exemplifies many admirable traits.

“Corey has played for us for seven years and in those seven years, he’s won 20 team awards including the MVP four times,” Welch said. “I think the accolades and the accomplishments are frankly staggering. He’s a generational player who has conducted himself with class and a high level of talent and integrity, both on and off the floor.”

Steve Priolo was named a second team all-star and was also awarded the Ken Alexander Memorial Award for the best defensive player.

He also received the Chris Hall Memorial Award for the player with the most competitive spirit, which was voted on by his teammates.

Jake Archdekin was awarded the Jim “Pee Wee” Bradshaw Award for the rookie of the year, while Cody Hagedorn took home the Fred Wooster Memorial Award for being the team’s unsung hero.

Ben McCullough was the most popular player as voted by fans. Delbert Whynot received the Leon Hall Memorial Award for outstanding service and dedication to the game of lacrosse.

Murray and Ev Rhode were recognized with the Lawrie Smith Memorial Award for volunteer of the year.

Just Posted

Vancouver Island pharmacist suspended for giving drugs with human placenta

RCMP had samples of the seized substances tested by Health Canada

Expect traffic delays at Burnside and Douglas this week for new bus lanes

Prep work runs Tuesday through Thursday while paving takes place Friday

Lawyer questions rejection of visitors to Goldstream homeless campers

Activist Chrissy Brett says they are still in fear of being kicked out

Small homeless camp removed at Horth Hill Regional Park in North Saanich

CRD staff say the camp is not connected to Camp Namegans in Goldstream

Victoria police searching for missing 18-year-old

Austin Bennett-Frechette is known to frequent the Greater Victoria Public Library

UrbaCity raises record-breaking $70,000 for Island Prostate Centre

240 racers, corporate sponsors fill the coffers for the cause

Vancouver Island designated as foreign trade zone

Designation simplifies importing and exporting and provides duty relief

Edmonton cannabis company revenues more than triples to $19.1 million

Aurora Cannabis revenues more than triple in fourth quarter

Seattle one step closer to NHL after arena plan approved

Seattle City Council unanimously approved plans for a privately funded $700 million renovation of KeyArena

Harvest Moon to light up B.C. skies with an ‘autumn hue’

It’s the first moon after the autumn equinox

Hockey league gets $1.4M for assistance program after Humboldt Broncos crash

Program will help players, families, coaches and volunteers after the shock of the deadly crash

Canada has removed six out of 900 asylum seekers already facing U.S. deportation

Ottawa had said the ‘overwhelming majority’ had been removed

Most Read