Metchosin golfers to be honoured Saturday

Golf club's annual awards night dinner and dance on tap

Winners from this season’s club tournament play will be honoured Saturday (Nov. 7) as the Metchosin Golf Club hosted its annual year-end dinner, dance and awards night.

On the men’s side, the Handicap Championship saw Ray Dego win the championship flight, ahead of runner-up Dan McGuire. Mike Crowe and Gary Wilkinson were semifinalists.

In the seniors tournament, Dave Hutchinson won the championship flight ahead of Danny Davis, while George McDonald and Forrest Lockhart were semifinalists.

The club championship in June saw Mike Hodgetts win the championship flight ahead of runner-up Trevor Throp. Rego and McDonald were semifinalists.

In the first flight, Gary Wilkinson won ahead of Jim Pollock, while Ron Corrigal and Doug Wilkie made it to the semifinals.

Captains Cup play saw Davis beat out Mike McCallum. Hutchinson and McDonald were semifinalists.

In women’s play, Pat Sanders won the ladies club championship low gross, while June Witty captured the low net crown.

Cathie Stevens earned the most improved player award.