Championship season winding up at Western Speedway

Demo drivers, bombers among those battling for points titles this weekend

With September in mid-swing, a traditional rite of fall has descended upon Western Speedway: it’s championship season.

Saturday night (Sept. 19) the demo cars and trucks, bombers, mini figure 8s, hornets and Capital City Drifting wind up their season with one final points event to help determine who takes home all the marbles. Qualifying gets underway at 5:30 p.m. with racing underway at 6:30.

Last Saturday there were points titles on the line in five other race classes. Chris McInerney, Sean Constantine, George Jenson, Brandon French and Dave Emmerson captured their respective 25-lap season-ending feature main event races.

Points leader McInerney held off a challenge from Brenden Moore to collect the stock car win in their feature main. Well back in third was Dave Reside, followed closely by Kyle Cottam, while Wayne Hart was a number of car lengths back in fifth.

Meghan McCollum, Mark Lockhart and Tyler Clough rounded out the finishing field.

Cottam began the night qualifying fastest with a time of 18.670 seconds. Warmup race wins went to Reside in the trophy dash and Lockhart in the heat race.

Constantine won a three-car battle to take the mini stock main, edging second-place finisher Ryan Patterson by mere inches, while Alex Mouner was close behind in third. Following them in order were Lois Pollard-Grant, Matt Szauer, Stu Ferguson, Jeremy Waksel and Caleb VanBree.

Justin Woodske opened the night with the fast qualifying time of 19.449 seconds, after which Waksel scored victory in the trophy dash and Mouner got the win in the heat race.

Jenson enjoyed a big lead by the finish of the Old Time Racers finale, easily crossing the line ahead of Duane Zeinstra and Joe Dardengo, who were tangled in a battle for second and third. James Miller in fourth led the next group, followed by Kail Beck, James Campbell, Larry Joyce and Roger Beck. Dardengo had fast time of 18.469, Campbell won the trophy dash, Zeinstra captured the first heat race and Miller the second heat.

French won by slightly more than one second in the dwarf car finale over Tyler Peters, who had Miles Maxie on his tail in third and another group bunched up behind led by Kinser Kennedy, who finished fourth, Kyle Kennedy, Brad Scafe, Dave Wright and Bobby Cyr, in that order.

French earlier won the trophy dash and first heat race, while Halina Tayour grabbed the second heat race checkered flag. Scafe had fast qualifying time of 17.816 seconds.

In the Wilroc Lites sprint car main, Emmerson won a duel to the finish against Jeff Montgomery, who couldn’t quite pass the leader by the end and finished .106 seconds behind in the number two spot. Ryan Orchard and Guy Barrett were a little ways back in third and fourth, respectively, followed in order by Mike Haslam, Jeff Bird, Cam McLean and Mark Stuart.

After Orchard carded the fast qualifying time of 16:051, Montgomery raced to a win in the trophy dash. Deter Lejeune followed with a win in the first heat race and Haslam took the checkered flag in the second heat.

Just Posted

Good things come in small, strong, fast packages

Sierra Gillis hopes to represent Canada one day in fastball or rugby

New UVic study to track decline of insects in Metchosin

Traps will be set to catch and weigh flying insects

Jazz songstress Ellen Doty brings her sweet sound to Hermann’s Jazz Club

March 27 concert in Victoria part of national CD release tour

Victoria says #NeverAgain in solidarity with March For Our Lives

Youth Political Commons invites public to rally against gun violence March 24 at legislature

Paralympic dream for rider with cerebral palsy

Kim Scott’s goal is to represent Canada and won’t let anything, including cerebral palsy, get in her way

Women’s Expo seeks to empower women this weekend

Victoria Women’s Expo set for Saturday and Sunday at Pearkes Recreation Centre

Muddy water found in taps at B.C. hospital prompts investigation

Northern Health to hire consultant to examine three facilities for potential contamination

RCMP officer charged after pedestrian struck at crosswalk

A man suffered a broken leg and head lacerations after being struck by the police vehicle in 2017

It’s complicated: Victoria Mayor Lisa Helps breaks up with Facebook

“I’m quitting Facebook so I stop contributing in any way to this cycle of psychological violence where fear and anger get more air time than joy”

B.C. gives tax breaks to jumpstart LNG in northwest

LNG income tax scrapped, break on sales tax for producers

Rupert the therapy bunny sidelined due to deadly virus outbreak

Chilliwack’s famous therapy rabbit quarantined for his own safety, people not at risk

UPDATE: both lanes open Hwy. 19 south after multi-vehicle accident

A car fire has since been extinguished at the Hillview Rd. crash site Thursday morning

BCHL Today: Wenatchee goes Wild against Vernon Vipers

BCHL Today is a (near) daily look at what’s going on around the league and the junior A world.

Most Read