Western Speedway rolls from the season-opening Night of Mayhem into the Vapour Solutions Night at the Races this Saturday in Langford. Racing gets underway at 6:30 p.m. Courtesy Western Speedway

Racing’s Night of Mayhem produces hard-hitting demo car main event

Western Speedway in Langford gets it going again this Saturday

By Cole Sorenson

Special to the Gazette

Shawn Young, Cam Stanfield, Derrick Jackson, and David Newell all captured victory in their respective divisions to open the 2017 racing season at Western Speedway.

Saturday evening’s Slegg Building Materials Night of Mayhem included the demo cars and trucks, bombers, claimers and mini figure 8’s. Special features on the night included a fire breathing dragon, the Wilson’s Transportation bus race, the Malahat Auto Wrecking total destruction, a camper-trailer race and fireworks to wrap things up.

The demo car and truck main event proved to be a hard-hitting affair, with Craig Holfeld entering as the night’s quick qualifier.

Eddy Cooper and Tim Bunyan would lead the field of cars to the green flag, with Cooper jumping out to an early lead. On lap seven, Holfeld worked his way into top spot, passing a spinning Brandon Young entering turn one. On lap nine, the caution flag would be displayed for the stopped car of Jake Matthews, who had lost his right rear wheel after contact with another car.

The slightly depleted field restarted the race with six laps to go. Shawn Young moved into second spot and began to pursue Holfeld for the lead. On the last corner of the last lap, Young nudged Holfeld out of the way to snatch the first main event of the season.

Behind him, Holfeld salvaged a second-place finish with Jim Young, Eddy Cooper and Tim Bunyan rounding out the top five, in that order.

This Saturday’s (April 22) next set of races at Western Speedway sees the Vapour Solutions Night at the Races, featuring the WILROC non-winged sprint cars, the Galaxy Motors stock cars, Sooke Disposal mini stocks, the Old-Time Racers Association and the Marlin Motors hornets class. Qualifying starts at 5:30 p.m., fan fest at 6 and racing gets underway at 6:30.

Winners from April 15 races:

Demo Cars/Trucks: dash – Wayne Hart; heat – Jim Young; main – Shawn Young

Bombers: dash – Tony Kambo; heat – Sean Whitley; main – Cam Stanfield

Claimers: dash – Curtis Boyce; heat, main – Derrick Jackson

Mini Figure 8’s: dash – Tanner Jacobs; heat – Mike Noyce; main – David Newell


Just Posted

Quick-thinking residents help contain fire in Colwood

Department says fire would have been worse if not for actions of tenant and neighbour

Unlike other districts, SD62 not cutting back on carpet cleaning

Sooke School District adds more custodians because of portables

New apartment buildings move forward in Langford

Belmont Place Apartments on Jacklin Road will feature 222 units when finished

High winds cancel slew of BC Ferries sailings

Travel to and from Victoria and Vancouver as well as Northern Gulf Islands affected

View Royal’s byelection results are in

The winner is Damian Kowalewich

VIDEO: Rare comic showing Superman’s 1st appearance to be auctioned

The 1938 comic features Superman hoisting a car over his head

Naked man arrested in Nanaimo, provided with pants

Suspect arrested for causing disturbance Nov. 13 near Bowen and Northfield roads

‘An officer and a gentleman’: Const. John Davidson is laid to rest

Thousands attend memorial service for slain Abbotsford Police officer

VIDEO: Coquihalla closed both directions near Merritt

Detours are available via Hwy. 8 and Hwy. 1

VIDEO: The Last Jedi is going to be the longest ‘Star Wars’ movie yet

Newest movie in the franchise will beat Star Wars: Episode II - Attack of the Clones

REPLAY: B.C. this week in video

In case you missed it, here’s a look at replay-worthy highlights from across the province this week.

PHOTOS: Procession and funeral for Const. John Davidson

Thousands attended celebration of life for Abbotsford police officer

B.C. Liberal leadership candidates debate different paths for party

Third debate held Sunday, Nov. 19 at Nanaimo’s Vancouver Island Conference Centre

Saanich police officer wins View Royal byelection

The day planner of a Saanich police officer suddenly got a lot… Continue reading

Most Read